A Wayne County DUI conviction comes with some serious penalties. A drunk driving conviction will forever change your life. To avoid DUI penalties in Wayne County, MI, get in touch with Edward J. Nykiel, a Trenton MI DUI defense attorney.
The penalties you will face if you are convicted for drunk driving in Trenton, MI and the surrounding Wayne County areas will depend on the strength and experience of the Trenton MI DUI lawyer that you decide to hire. By hiring a skilled Wayne County MI DUI defense attorney, you give yourself a better chance to receive alternate or lessened sentencing, reduced charges, or even avoid a conviction entirely.
Your Wayne County DUI sentencing will depend on the circumstances of your Michigan criminal record. If you have any previous convictions, you will face steeper drunk driving penalties in Wayne County, Michigan.
A person convicted for a Michigan DUI offense faces a variety of penalties. For a first Wayne County drunk driving offense, you can be put in jail for up to 93 days, have your Michigan driver’s license suspended for up to 6 months, receive 6 points on your license, and pay a fine from $100 to $500. You may also face a $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years. A Trenton DUI lawyer can help to fight for lesser penalties, such as community service, ignition interlock, or vehicle immobilization.
A second Wayne County MI DUI conviction comes with even more severe penalties than a first time conviction. For a Trenton MI DUI, you face jail time from 5 days to 1 year, a minimum 1 year Michigan driver’s license suspension, 6 points on you license, license plate confiscation, vehicle immobilization from 90 to 180 days, a fine from $200 to $1,000, ignition interlock device, and the $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years.
The penalties are even worse for a third Wayne county drunk driving conviction. The third Trenton DUI offense is considered a felony offense in Michigan. You will face 1 to 5 years of prison time, and jail probation time from 30 days to a year. Your license will be suspended, 6 points will go on your license, your license plates will be confiscated, your vehicle will be immobilized from 90 to 180 days unless it is forfeited, and you will have to pay fines from $200 to $1,000 in addition to the 2 years $1000 Driver Responsibility Fee.
The penalties that come with a Wayne County DUI conviction can be fought with the help of Edward J. Nykiel, a Trenton MI DUI attorney. An experienced Wayne County DUI attorney, Ed Nykiel has the skills and defenses it takes to ensure that you get the minimum penalties if you are convicted for a DUI in Wayne County, MI. Trenton drunk driving lawyer Ed Nykiel knows that the penalties you receive will greatly affect your future. Certain penalties will affect your job and/or your credit. Employers and credit agencies will have access to your criminal record and this will affect whether or not you get a job, house, apartment, car, etc. Not only this, but you could lose respect from your family and friends. Don’t let this happen. Hire the best Trenton MI DUI attorney you can find. Edward J. Nykiel is the smart choice in Wayne County drunk driving defense lawyers for anyone who wants to avoid the steep penalties that come with a Wayne County MI DUI conviction.
Get in touch with Edward J. Nykiel if you are facing any DUI or OWI charges in Wayne County, MI or the surrounding counties. A skilled Trenton DUI defense attorney will help to ensure that you avoid the harshest Michigan DUI penalties. Contact Edward J. Nykiel to set up a free consultation. Call (734) 775-5990 today to speak with a practiced Wayne County DUI lawyer.